Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

Pakistan Sports fraternity recall World T20 winning moments

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

21st Jun, 2020. 01:08 pm
Double Click 160 x 600

Pakistan, on this day in 2009, won their first major title in 17 years when they stunned Sri Lanka by eight wickets in the high voltage clash in the World Twenty20 final at a sell-out Lord’s.

Before this, Pakistan’s only other official multi-nation tournament win was in 1992 when Imran Khan’s team lifted the World Cup by beating England in the final at the Melbourne cricket ground in Australia.

Pakistani Cricketers recalled the winning moments in their tweets.

Pacer Muhamamd Amir said: Beginning of my blessed journey, my 1st tour and we were world champions still gives me goosebumps. Can never forget this day. ALLHAMDULILAH for this always.

Opener Ahmad Shahzad said:

Shahid Afridi hit an unbeaten 54 off 40 balls, his second consecutive half-century, and former captain Shoaib Malik made 24 not out during a match-winning partnership of 76 for the undefeated third wicket.

Fall of wickets Sri Lanka: 1-0 (Tillakaratne Dilshan, 0.5 ov), 2-2 (Jehan Mubarak, 1.3 ov), 3-26 (Sanath Jayasuriya, 3.5 ov), 4-32 (Mahela Jayawardene, 5.3 ov), 5-67 (Chamara Silva, 11.3 ov), 6-70 (Isuru Udana, 12.6 ov)

Fall of wickets Pakistan: 1-48 (Kamran Akmal, 7.1 ov), 2-63 (Shahzaib Hasan, 9.1 ov)

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news