Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

‘Football Manager of the year award Goes to’

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

28th Jul, 2020. 10:53 am
Double Click 160 x 600
Jurgen Klopp

Jurgen Klopp of football club Liverpool has been named as the Manager of year after ending a 30 year wait win of his side in the premier league.

Media reports said; Klopp led Liverpool to the Premier League title in the same season they were FIFA Club World champions.

The award for Jurgen Klopp was announced by former Manchester United boss Alex Ferguson, after whom the trophy is now named.

Former Borussia Dortmund boss Klopp said of Ferguson: “I know it’s not 100 per cent appropriate as a Liverpool manager but I admire him. I remember he was the first British manager I met.

“We had breakfast. I’m not sure how much he remembers but I remember because for me this moment was like meeting the Pope. It was absolutely great and from that first season we clicked.

“I didn’t think at this moment I would have a trophy in my hands named after him.”

Chris Wilder, last year’s winner of the award, settled for the runner-up spot this time after Sheffield United’s impressive first season back in the Premier League.

Meanwhile, Klopp wants to retain a lean squad to ensure Liverpool remain competitive next season.

The Reds boss used 24 players in the Premier League this term.

Klopp gave chances to some of the club’s academy players in the FA and League Cups to cope with fixture congestion.

But he believes keeping as small a core as possible keeps the players on their toes.

“The solution cannot be to have a much bigger squad for the specific moment and then realise you cannot use all the players,” Klopp said.

“These players can only play the football they play because they know they are needed.

“They are all human beings and nobody can be held back for a year and then on the last day of the year be told, ‘Now we need you’.

Earlier English Club Liverpool lifted Premier League trophy, after beating Chelsea with 5-3, their first ever win in 30 years.

Jordan Henderson received the trophy from Liverpool legend Sir Kenny Dalglish on a special podium built on the Kop after Jurgen Klopp’s side made it three full unbeaten Premier League seasons at Anfield.

Kenny Dalglish, the last Liverpool manager to deliver the title, presented the medals wearing a red face mask before handing the trophy to captain Jordan Henderson who raised it to the night sky as fireworks and tickertape filled the air.

Jürgen Klopp’s side ended a 30-year wait for top-flight success in scintillating style, becoming the first team to claim this prestigious honour with more than five games to spare.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news