Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

Fakhar Zaman to miss national squad touring New Zealand due to health concerns

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

23rd Nov, 2020. 05:51 pm
Double Click 160 x 600
Fakhar Zaman

Pakistan’s opener Fakhar Zaman has been ruled out of New Zealand tour and he is suffering from fever and still not recovered to join the team’s squad.

According to a statement by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), to withdraw Fakhar Zaman from the tour was made keeping the health of the rest of the squad members as a top priority.

The Pakistan batsman is currently in isolation in the team hotel but has returned negative for COVID-19, the statement read.

“Fakhar’s COVID test report was received on Saturday which came out negative but today he picked up fever. As soon as his condition was reported, he was isolated from the rest of the squad in the team hotel,” said Sohail Saleem, the team doctor.

“We are constantly monitoring his condition and remain hopeful of his quick recovery; however he is not fit to travel with the squad and as such has been withdrawn from the touring party.”

Earlier in a day, Pakistan Cricket Team has departed for New Zealand from Lahore to play two Test and three Twenty20 International (T20I) matches.

The squad departed on November 23rd (today) with smiles and an aim to win against Kiwis.

Pakistan and New Zealand are all set to play a three-match T20I series starting December 18. The two-Test series will begin on Boxing Day (December 26).

Captain Babar Azam said:  “PCB has given me a lot of confidence, to not worry about short term results & that I’m in their long term plans. They’ve told me to play freely & there’s no pressure from them about results. They’ve given me the freedom to captain & play as well as I can.”


Babar Azam (c), Abid Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Shan Masood, Zeeshan Malik, Azhar Ali, Danish Aziz, Fawad Alam, Haider Ali, Haris Sohail, Hussain Talat, Imran Butt, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan, Rohail Nazir, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Usman Qadir, Yasir Shah, Zafar Gohar, Amad Butt, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Hasnain, Musa Khan, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news