FIFA Awards 2020: Finalists announced for Best Men’s Player

Web DeskWeb Editor

13th Dec, 2020. 10:34 am


Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) has announced the finalists for the Best Men’s Player award 2020 and this time its not just Messi vs. Ronaldo.

Bayern Munich forward Robert Lewandowski was included in a three-man shortlist for the award alongside Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Juventus’s Cristiano Ronaldo.

FIFA will announce this year’s winner next Thursday in a virtual ceremony.

Lewandowski is considered the favorite to win his first global award, as the Poland captain scored 55 goals to help his team win the treble of UEFA Champions League, Bundesliga, and German Cup last season. Robert Lewandowski has already won Bundesliga and UEFA player of the season awards.

In October this year, Bayern Munich displayed a spectacular performance against Borussia Dortmund, defeating the opponents by 3-2 and lifted the German Super Cup 2020.

Joshua Kimmich’s goal sealed the victory for Bayern to take the cup home. Bayern took the lead with 2-0 at first, however, Julian Brandt scored a goal for Dortmund before half time.

But in the 82nd minute, Bayern scored the winning goal.

Bayern made the quintuple this year, winning all the trophies for the 2019-20 season including the:

  1. German top-tier division Bundesliga
  2. German Cup,
  3. German Super Cup,
  4. UEFA Champions League
  5. UEFA Super Cup

On 24th August,  German Club FC Bayern Munich became king of Europe for the sixth time after defeating Paris Saint Germain in the Champions League Finals in Lisbon.

Adsence 300X250