Launching Ceremony of Kashmir Premier League (KPL) held in Karachi

Fahad PervezWeb Editor

25th Dec, 2020. 07:00 pm

National cricket stars are ready to shine in the valley of Kashmir next year during first edition of the Kashmir Premier League (KPL).

The organizers have announced six teams of the tournament five from Azad Jammu & Kashmir and one of Kashmiri diaspora would chip in the inaugural edition, commencing from April 1, 2021.

The league to be played on 20 overs format will see Muzaffarabad Tigers, Mirpur Royals, Kotli Panthers, Rawalakot Hawks, Bagh Stallions, and Overseas Warriors clashing for the top honors.

Arif Malik, the president of KPL said,

“It will be a single league tournament in the first edition. Seven matches will be played in Mirpur while Muzaffarabad will host 11 matches including semi-finals and final.”

“There will be a total of six teams, while players will be picked through a draft. Each team will have five local Kashmiri players in the squad; they’ll play with Pakistan’s international stars in the first edition and then from the second edition onwards, global stars will also join the KPL,” he added.

He added that KPL will bring the cricket talent of Kashmir to the mainstream cricket world.

“This is evidence to the world, they can see how different these two parts of Kashmir are,” he said at the launch of KPL.

Adsense 300 x 250