Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

Pak v NZ: Pakistan wins 3rd T20 match by 4 wickets

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

22nd Dec, 2020. 02:53 pm
Double Click 160 x 600

Pakistan has won the 3rd and final T20I against New Zealand by four wickets.

With the hosts taking the series by a 2-1 margin; Mohammad Rizwan 89(59) and Mohammad Hafeez 41(29) provided a much-needed win to the visitors.  Iftikhar Ahmad finished things off in style with a massive six out of the ground.

Mohammad Hafeez became the leading run-getter in 2020 as he scored 415 runs. He surpassed India’s K.L. Rahul, who scored 404 runs. The batsman also equaled Shoaib Malik’s record of highest-run getter by a Pakistani batsman in this format. Both of them now stand at 2323 runs.

Hafeez and Rizwan posted a 72-run stand after Scott Kuggelejin removed him in the 14th over. Hafeez with the help of three sixes and two fours, scored 41.

Devon Conway’s late flourish guided New Zealand to 173/7 in the final match. The 29-year-old rescued Blackcaps’ inning after they were 58/3 in 7.2 overs. Conway scored 63 off 45 balls which included seven fours and a six. Glenn Phillips and Tim Seifert made 31 and 35 respectively.

For Pakistan, Faheem Ashraf was the pick of the bowlers, taking three for 20 while Haris Rauf and Shaheen Shah picked two each but were expensive in their quota of four overs.

Pakistan captain Shadab Khan won the toss and decided to bowl first against the black caps.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Tim Seifert(w), Kane Williamson (c), Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult, Todd Astle, Daryl Mitchell

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (w), Haider Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Hafeez, Shadab Khan (c), Khushdil Shah, Faheem Ashraf, Imad Wasim, Wahab Riaz, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Usman Qadir, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Muhammad Musa, Mohammad Hasnain

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news