Rashid Khan is the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

28th Dec, 2020. 02:29 pm
Rashid Khan

Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan has won the ICC Men’s T20I Player of the Decade award.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) in its tweet announced that Rashid Khan is the Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade.

He has played 48 T20Is and took 89 wickets with an economy rate 6.14 and bowling average 12.62.

Men’s T20I Player of the Decade award nominees:

  •    Aaron Finch (Australia)
    •    Chris Gayle (West Indies)
    •    Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
    •    Virat Kohli (India)
    •    Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)
    •    Rohit Sharma (India)
    •    Imran Tahir (South Africa)

According to ICC he has a strike-rate of 12.3, and boasts a T20 career-best 5/3 against Ireland in 2017. He made his T20I debut vs Zimbabwe at Queens Sports Club, Oct 26, 2015. His last T20I match was against Ireland at Greater Noida Sports Complex Ground, Mar 10, 2020.

Greatest hits:

  • 5/3 v Ireland, March 10, 2017
  • 5/27 v Ireland, February 24, 2019
  • 4/12 v Bangladesh, June 5, 2018
  • 4/17 v Ireland, August 22, 2018
  • 4/25 v Ireland, February 23, 2019
  • 3/11 v Zimbabwe, March 12, 2016
  • 3/13 v Bangladesh, June 3, 2018
  • 3/14 v UAE, December 18, 2016

Afghanistan Cricket Profile

Taking a look at the cricket profile of Afghanistan, they might be one of the newest teams to play the game but it has not stopped them from dreaming and achieving big.

Their journey in the game has been really inspirational so far. They gained the One Day International (ODI)  status in 2011.

They qualified for the 2015 World Cup and won their first game in the tournament by beating Scotland.

In 2016, they made it to the World T20 and registered a memorable win over eventual champion West Indies.

They have also beaten West Indies in a T20I series and were awarded the Test status in 2017.

Adsence 300X250