Shaheen Shah Afridi undergoes concussion test after helmet blow

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

31st Dec, 2020. 10:00 am
Shaheen Shah Afridi

Pakistan bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi declared fit by the team doctor after clearing the concussion test.

According to the details, Afridi underwent the concussion test following the blow he had received on his helmet by a rising delivery from Neil Wagner on the last day of the first Test against New Zealand

Dr Sohail Ahmed administered Afridi’s concussion test, who is the team doctor and has been with the team in New Zealand. However, the fast bowler will remain under observation for the next 48 hours.

Meanwhile, the Pakistan squad has reached Christchurch for the second Test starting from January 3.

The second match will be played at Christchurch’s Hagley Oval and New Zealand need to win that game as well to give them any chance of making the Test Championship final at Lord’s.

On Wednesday, Pakistan lost the first test to the New Zealand by 101 runs despite the career defining century of Fawad Alam at Bay Oval. Kiwis took the 1-0 lead in the two test series.

Having been set 373 to win, Pakistan was 71-3 still 301 runs behind and the New Zealand bowlers who had dismissed Pakistan for 239 in its first innings to give the home side a 192-run lead, still held the upper hand.

Pakistan finally was out for 271 at 6.36 pm NZ local time with fewer than five overs left in the day’s play and a draw beckoning.

Left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner dismissed No 11 batsman Naseem Shah to clinch the win after Naseem and Shaheen Afridi had defied New Zealand for almost eight overs as the number of balls remaining in the day dwindled.

New Zealand Squad

Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wk), Will Young

Pakistan Squad

Mohammad Rizwan (capt), Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Sohail, Imran Butt, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, Sohail Khan, Yasir Shah.

Adsense 300 x 250