Mohammad Rizwan, Fawad Alam granted promotion to Category A & C, respectively

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

24th Feb, 2021. 08:47 pm
Mohammad Rizwan Fawad Alam promotions

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has promoted Mohammad Rizwan and Fawad Alam to central contracts following their high performances recently.

According to the details, the PCB Test Cricketer of the year 2020, Mohammad Rizwan, has been promoted to Category A of the PCB’s Central Contract List 2020-21 following stellar performances across all formats in the ongoing season.

In the elite category, the 28-year-old has now joined Pakistan captain Babar Azam, former captain Azhar Ali and star fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi.

The left-handed batsman previously was in the A+ category for domestic cricketers. The updated central contract list will come into effect from March 1.

According to a press release by the cricket board, Fawad Alam has also been elevated from the A+ domestic contract category to Category C of the PCB Central Contract List 2020-21, while it also offered a Category C contract to T20I specialist Mohammad Hafeez.

Speaking about the promotions, PCB’s Chief Executive (CEO) Wasim Khan said, “I want to congratulate Rizwan and Fawad for earning well-deserved and well-earned promotions.

This is a reward for their hard work and high-quality performances during the difficult and challenging bio-secure environments that tested their determination, resolve, commitment, mental toughness and physical fitness to the limits.”

He further added, “The decision to promote the players was made during a meeting with the Chair of the Selection Committee, Muhammad Wasim, while we were reviewing player performances in the 2020-21 season and discussing the upcoming commitments.”

Updated PCB Men’s Central Contract List for 2020-21:

Category A – Azhar Ali (Central Punjab), Babar Azam (Central Punjab), Mohammad Rizwan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) and Shaheen Shah Afridi (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)

Category B – Abid Ali (Central Punjab), Asad Shafiq (Sindh), Haris Sohail (Balochistan), Mohammad Abbas (Southern Punjab), Sarfaraz Ahmed (Sindh), Shadab Khan (Northern), Shan Masood (Southern Punjab) and Yasir Shah (Balochistan)

Category C – Fakhar Zaman (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Fawad Alam (Sindh), Iftikhar Ahmed (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Imad Wasim (Northern), Imam-ul-Haq (Balochistan), Naseem Shah (Central Punjab) and Usman Shinwari (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)

Emerging Players’ Category – Haider Ali (Northern), Haris Rauf (Northern) and Mohammad Hasnain (Sindh)

Adsense 300 x 250