‘One national squad player for SA tour tests COVID-19 positive,’ PCB

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

17th Mar, 2021. 04:08 pm
Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) selector (Wasim Khan) has included four experienced players and included uncapped Azam Khan in the squad for England and West Indies tour.

One player part of national squad for the tour of South Africa has tested positive for the novel coronavirus, said the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday.

According PCB, a total of 35 tests were conducted on the South Africa-bound Pakistan men’s national cricket team on Tuesday, 16 March.

All squad members have tested negative, except for one player. Those who have tested negative will now assemble in Lahore on Thursday, 18 March, for the training camp, which will commence at the Gaddafi Stadium on Friday.

PCB in its statement said that the player who has tested positive will undergo a repeat test on Thursday at his residence. If he tests negative, only then he will be eligible to travel to Lahore where he will remain in isolation for two more days before being retested.

Babar XI will play three one-day internationals and four Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) against South Africa and two Tests and three T20Is against Zimbabwe next month.

The series against South Africa will start from April 2 and end on April 16 after which the team will depart for Zimbabwe.

ODI squad:

Babar Azam (C), Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Haider Ali, Danish Aziz, Saud Shakil, Faheem Ashraf, pMohammad Wasim Jr, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Hasnain, Hasan Ali, Usman Qadir

T20I squad:

Babar Azam (C), Shadab Khan, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Haider Ali, Danish Aziz, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mohamamad Wasim Jr, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Hasan Ali, Arshad Iqbal, Usman Qadir

Test squad:

Babar Azam (C), Imran Butt, Abid Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Saud Shakeel, Agha Salman, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Tabish Khan, Hasan Ali, Shahnawaz Dahani, Nauman Ali, Zahid Mehmood, Sajid Khan

Adsense 300 x 250