Babar Azam Becomes Fastest batsman to achieve 6000-run landmark

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

11th Apr, 2021. 12:47 am
Babar Azam

Pakistan’s skipper Babar Azam has achieved another milestone as he became Pakistan’s fastest batsman to achieve the 6000-run landmark in the first T20I match against South Africa.

Babar Azam joins queue with West Indies Chris Gayle as he became the second person in the world to achieve this feat. Chris Gayle had hit 6,000 runs back in 2014.

Pakistan has on Saturday won the first T20I match against South Africa by four wickets and leads the series 1-0.

The Green Shirts successfully chased their highest T20I total to beat South Africa by 4 wickets in the last-over thriller.

Moreover, Mohammad Rizwan’s 50-ball 74* and Faheem Ashraf’s explosive 14-ball 30 helps the visitors across the line.

Rizwan once again becomes the star for Pakistan, batting through the innings and scoring a swift 74 from 50 balls, including nine fours and two sixes.


South Africa won the toss and opted to bat first against Pakistan in the first fixture of the four-match T20I series at The Wanderers.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Arshad Iqbal, Asif Ali, Danish Aziz, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Usman Qadir.

South Africa: Heinrich Klaasen (captain, wicketkeeper), Aiden Markram, Andile Phehlukwayo, Beuran Hendricks, Bjorn Fortuin, George Linde, Rassie van der Dussen, Janneman Malan, Sisanda Magala, Wiaan Mulder, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Kyle Verreynne, Pite van Biljon, Daryn Dupavillon, Migael Pretorius, Lizaad Williams and Wihan Lubbe.

Adsence 300X250