Pak vs SA: Babar, Rizwan Help Pakistan Lead The Series 2-1 By 9 Wickets

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

14th Apr, 2021. 09:02 pm
Pakistan wins 3rd T20I

Pakistan has on Wednesday won the third T20I match against South Africa by nine wickets at Supersport Park in Centurion.

A brilliant knock out by Babar Azam as he becomes the third Pakistan’s batsman to score a century in all three formats.

Pakistan completed their highest successful T20I run-chase with 12 balls.

Babar Azam’s century and Mohammad Rizwan’s 73* helps lead the series 2-1 today.


In the third T20 being played at Centurion, national team captain Babar Azam won the toss and elected to field first. The hosts scored 203 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in 20 overs.

For South Africa, Markram scored 63, Milan 55 and Dawson 34 runs.

For Pakistan, Muhammad Nawaz took two wickets while Shaheen Shah Afridi, Hassan Ali and Fahim Ashraf took one wicket each.

Pakistan had won the first T20 while losing the second match.

In today’s match, three changes have been made. Sharjeel Khan, Usman Qadir and Mohammad Hasnain have been replaced by Fakhr Zaman, Asif Ali and Haris Rauf in the national team.

Moreover, Skipper Babar Azam was fully confident to bounce back in the 3RD T20 match. He said that the team would enter in today’s match with new spirits.

Babar Azam during a virtual interview said, “We were caught on a bad day at the Wanderers. The main reason for the lacklustre performance was a low total we put in on the board for South Arica to chase.”

“When you lose too many wickets in the power-play while batting first, things get tougher for you. That was exactly what happened to us. We lost some quick wickets in the first six overs that pegged us down.”

“Together with Hafeez, I tried to make amends but once he got out things again got tougher for us. I think that partnership was crucial. We should have stayed there longer,” the captain added.

T20I Schedule

1st T20I – April 10 – Saturday – The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

2nd T20I – April 12 – Monday – The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

3rd T20I – April 14 – Wednesday – SuperSport Park, Centurion

4th T20I – April 16 – Friday – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Adsence 300X250