Imran Khan ‘honored’ as PCB launches hall of fame

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

11th Apr, 2021. 04:22 pm

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Sunday in an effort to further acknowledge and celebrate the achievements of national cricket legends, approved the launch of the PCB Hall of Fame.

According to PCB, the players retired from international cricket for, at least, five years will be eligible for induction into the PCB Hall of Fame.

PCB named legends Wasim Akram, Zaheer Abbas, Hanif Muhammad, Imran Khan, Javed Miandad, Waqar Younis as first inductions to be made in the Hall of Fame.

Chairman PCB Ehsan Mani in this regard said, “Since earning the Test status, Pakistan has produced world-renowned cricketers who have not only put Pakistan on the world map but have left their mark on world cricket.”

He added that, “There will be an initial intake of six ICC Cricket Hall of Famers – Hanif Mohammad, Imran Khan, Javed Miandad, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Zaheer Abbas – who will be supplemented by three inductions in the PCB Hall of Fame each year starting from 16 October 2021. It is appropriate that these six extraordinary performers be the founding inductees as they continue to inspire the next generation of superstars.”

Adsence 300X250