South Africa Captain Temba Bavuma ruled out of T20I series against Pakistan

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

09th Apr, 2021. 10:32 am
Temba Bavuma

South Africa white-ball captain Temba Bavuma has been ruled out of the upcoming four-match Twenty20 international series against Pakistan after suffering a Grade One hamstring strain.

According to statement by Cricket South Africa (CSA), Temba Bavuma will not be the part of T20I series against Pakistan after suffering a Grade One hamstring strain.

The statement added that, Rassie van der Dussen will continue treatment and monitoring of his Grade One left quadriceps muscle strain.

In addition to this, CSA said that Aiden Markram, Andile Phehlukwayo, Daryn Dupavillon and Wiaan Mulder have been retained from the ODI squad.

Despite the setbacks, South African cricket coach is optimistic about winning the upcoming series against Pakistan.

In a statement he said, “It’s a young squad and the guys are all desperate for opportunities.”

“It’s not ideal having a couple of injuries, but it brings an opportunity and I know there are quite a few very hungry guys in our T20 squad who would like to represent their country and see what it’s all about at international level.”


First T20I:

Saturday, 10 April, at Johannesburg

Second T20I:

Monday, 12 April, at Johannesburg

Third T20I:

Wednesday, 14 April, at Centurion

Fourth T20I:

Friday, 16 April, at Centurion


South Africa

Heinrich Klaasen (c),  Daryn Dupavillon, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Wihan Lubbe, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Migael Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Pite van Biljon, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams


Babar Azam (c), Arshad Iqbal, Asif Ali, Danish Aziz, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sharjeel Khan, Usman Qadir, Zahid Mahmood

Adsense 300 x 250