Pakistan Brushes Aside West Indies In Second T20I By 7 Runs

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

01st Aug, 2021. 09:44 am
West Indies Announce Their Squad For Test Series Against Pakistan

Nicholas Pooran‘s knock went in vain as Pakistan bowlers pulled the game, in the end, to win by 7 runs in the second T20I on Saturday. 

Mohammad Hafeez’s economic spell set Pakistan on track to win the second T20I against West Indies but they took it to the last over to win it by just seven runs.

Hafeez, with his controlled bowling, restricted their left-handers in the first ten overs. He allowed just six runs in four overs and bagged a wicket.

Pooran’s explosive victorious 62 off 33 balls with six sixes and four fours kept the West Indies in with a chance of overcoming the inactivity of much of their innings, even to the final over when 20 runs were required to overhaul Pakistan’s total of 157 for eight.

However, Shaheen Shah Afridi claimed the wicket of captain Kieron Pollard and then dismissed the wild Pooran the opportunity to swing freely at the next three deliveries to ensure the visitors come away with the success with the hosts kept to 150 for four.

West Indies were again undone in their run chase by the number of scoreless deliveries, 47, in their innings, although nothing could take away from the outstanding bowling effort of Mohammad Hafeez.

For Pakistan, Hafeez, Afridi, Hasan Ali, and Mohammad Wasim picked up a wicket each. Hafeez was named man-of-the-match.


West Indies: Kieron Pollard (captain), Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), Romario Shepherd, Jason Holder, Dwayne Bravo, Hayden Walsh, Akeal Hosein.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Hafeez, Fakhar Zaman, Sohaib Maqsood, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Wasim, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir.

Adsence 300X250