Pakistan, West Indies to begin quest for WTC 2021-23 today

Web DeskWeb Editor

12th Aug, 2021. 06:24 pm
Live Score: Pakistan vs West Indies 1st test

Pakistan and West Indies to lock horns today in the first game of the two-match Test series to initiate their pursuit for the second edition of World Test Championship 2021-23.

The weather forecast predicts heavy showers on all five days of the first Test due to which the contest can be interrupted on frequent occasions.

Talking about the possibility of the first match getting disturbed due to rain, Pakistan team’s skipper Babar Azam said, “No one can control the weather, but I think it is time to look at alternatives to ensure cricket is not affected by the weather.”

However, Azam is positive that his side is ready to take on any challenge that the pitch will likely bring.

“Jamaican pitches provide a good challenge to the batsmen hence our batters need to come to the party and display their true potential and calibre in the two Tests,” expressed Azam.

The Green Caps enjoy a 20-17 edge over the Windies in the 52 matches played between them. Overall, Pakistan have won six series against the Caribbean Giants, however, they have won only one series in the West Indies when they met the last time in 2016-17.

On this tour, Pakistan have a comparatively more competent batting line on paper with captain Azam and former captain Azhar Ali ranked at 10th and 17th position, respectively, in the ICC Test Player Rankings, while no West Indian batter is among the top 40 in the ranking.

On the other hand, Windies’ pace bowlers Jason Holder and Kemar Roach are ranked 11th and 13th in the bowler’s ranking, while Pakistan’s Hasan Ali and Mohammad Abbas currently share the 15th spot.

The second contest of the series will begin on August 20 at Sabina Park, Jamaica.

Pakistan (Possible):

Abid Ali, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam(C), Fawad Alam, Mohammad Rizwan(wk), Faheem Ashraf/Nauman Ali, Hasan Ali, Yasir Shah,  Mohammad Abbas and Shaheen Shah Afridi

West Indies (Possible):

Kraigg Brathwaite(C), Shai Hope, Nkrumah Bonner, Roston Chase, Kyle Mayers, Jermaine Blackwood, Joshua Da Silva(wk), Jason Holder, Kemar Roach, Alzarri Joseph, Jayden Seales and Jomel Warrican

Adsence 300X250