Pakistan name new white-ball squad to take against Sri Lanka

Pakistan name new white-ball squad to take against Sri Lanka

Pakistan name new white-ball squad to take against Sri Lanka

After naming three uncapped players in their ODI and T20I teams on Wednesday, Pakistan may introduce some new faces during their white-ball series against Sri Lanka later this month.

Bismah Mahroof, the veteran captain, will lead Pakistan in three ODIs and three T20s in Karachi, with experienced duo Diana Baig and Aliya Riaz, as well as young seamer Fatima Sana, also selected in both squads.

The most significant absences from the roster are Javeria Khan and Nahida Khan, who were left out after both playing in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup earlier this year in New Zealand.

After being chosen in both 15-player squads, wicketkeeper-batter Gull Feroza appears to be the most likely to earn her first cap, but batsman Sadaf Shamas (ODI) and leg-spinner Tuba Hassan (T20) could also be in contention.

Asmavia Iqbal, the team’s chief selector, is excited to see what the new players may contribute to the team.


“I wish the two squads the best of luck in the series; we’ve given Gull Feroza, Sadaf Shamas, and Tuba Hassan opportunities based on their future potential and skills,” she stated.

“The three young people attended the emerging camp in December and impressed everyone with their skills.”

“I am encouraged by their improvement, and we all believe that now is the perfect time to expose them to international cricket.” Tuba, along with Ghulam Fatima, was selected as a reserve player for the recently finished ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup.

“She continues to make significant development, and as spin bowling is a traditional strength of ours, I believe she may contribute to our bowling strategy.”

“Gul Feroza has also made significant improvement; she plays with aggression and can provide us with quick starts in both T20Is and ODIs, which is now a big demand at the international level.”

“Sadaf, in addition to her batting abilities, gives us a medium-pace bowling option.”


“We looked at the remainder of the squad’s fitness, form, and performances during the preparatory camp, where we played a number of practice T20 and 50-over matches.”

“I believe we have two formidable sides for both T20Is and ODIs, both of which have good depth and, most importantly, the pedigree to defeat the Sri Lankan team in what should be an interesting series,” she added.

ODI squad:

Bismah Maroof (captain), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Gull Feroza, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin and Sidra Nawaz.

T20I squad:

Bismah Maroof (captain), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Gull Feroza, Iram Javed, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal and Tuba Hassan.





Read More News On

Catch all the Sports News, Breaking News Event and Latest News Updates on The BOL News

Download The BOL News App to get the Daily News Update & Follow us on Google News.

End of Article

Next Story