T20 World Cup: Curtis Campher four in four helps Ireland thump Netherlands

Web Desk BOL News

18th Oct, 2021. 10:11 pm
T20 World Cup: Curtis Campher four in four helps Ireland thump Netherlands

Ireland cricket team. Photo courtesy: Twitter

Curtis Campher’s four wickets in four balls help Ireland in the drubbing of the Netherland in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup at Abu Dhabi.

Curtis, who was playing his fifth T20 match, emulated T20 legends Lasith Malinga and Rashid Khan when he bowled Colin Ackermann, Ryan ten Doeschate, Scott Edwards and Roelof van der Merwe on four successive balls, in the tenth over.

At that point, Netherlands were 51 for six and there would be no way back for them from that abyss. However, Netherland will now have to almost certainly topple Sri Lanka if they have to qualify in the Super 12s.

It was Mark Adair and Josh Little who constructed Curtis’s lines and lengths in the power play. Mark finished his batting with three for none in his four overs.

Opener Max O’Dowd added 51 in the Netherland’s innings, but only one result seemed possible and that was Ireland winning big.

Brandon Glover and Fred Klaassen struck early in the chase to remove Kevin O’Brien (9) and captain Andy Balbirnie (8). Paul Stirling held himself back and forged 59 stand that was dominated by Gareth Delany.

Gareth, who had clattered an unbeaten 88 off 50 against Bangladesh in a warm-up match last week continued his fine form by scoring 44 off 29.

Delany was bowled by Seelar at the doorstep of victory, but Paul and Curtis, who had set it up for Ireland, finished it off with seven wickets and almost five overs to spare.



Playing: Paul Stirling, Kevin O Brien, Andrew Balbirnie (c), Gareth Delany, Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, Neil Rock (wk), Simi Singh, Mark Adair, Benjamin White, Joshua Little

Bench: George Dockrell, Craig Young, Andy McBrine, Lorcan Tucker


Playing: Max ODowd, Ben Cooper , Bas de Leede, Colin Ackermann, Ryan ten Doeschate, Scott Edwards (wk), Roelof van der Merwe, Pieter Seelaar (c), Logan van Beek, Fred Klaassen, Brandon Glover

Bench: Stephan Myburgh, Philippe Boissevain, Paul van Meekeren, Timm van der Gugten

Adsence 300X250