Lachie Neale named winner of 2020 Brownlow Medal

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

18th Oct, 2020. 04:13 pm
Lachie Neale

The most prestigious award in the Australian Football League, Brownlow Medal has been awarded to Lachie Neale of Brisbane Lions.

According to the details, Lachie Neale won his first-ever Brownlow Medal in utterly dominant fashion. The 27-year-old celebrated with his wife Julie and Lions players in the Gabba.

In addition to this, Neale polled secured votes to finish comfortably clear of Boak (21 votes) and Petracca and Steele (20 votes) and added the Brownlow Medal in his 178-game career.

In his award speech, he said, ‘To the footy club, the staff and the coaching staff, I think we’ve done such a great job. I’m so thankful to be part of the organisation. This award is for the club and the playing group.”

Moreover, he said that ‘There are so many people throughout my life who have helped me for a very long time. My mum Amanda, she has done so much for me and so much for my siblings. Same for my dad Robbie. I can honestly say now he is one of my best mates.”

What is the Brownlow Medal?

The Charles Brownlow Trophy, better known as the Brownlow Medal (and informally as “Charlie”), is awarded to the “fairest and best” player in the Australian Football League (AFL) during the home-and-away season, as determined by votes cast by the officiating field umpires after each game.

It is the most prestigious award for individual players in the AFL. Also widely acknowledged as the highest individual honour in the sport of Australian rules football.

The medal was first awarded by the Victorian Football League (VFL). This award was created and named in honour of Charles Brownlow, a former Geelong Football Club footballer (1880–1891) and club secretary (1885–1923), and VFL president (1918–19), who had died in January 1924 after an extended illness.

Adsense 300 x 250