IPL 2020: Chennai Super Kings’ complete squad & schedule

Muhammad UsmanMultimedia Journalist

20th Sep, 2020. 11:00 am
IPL 2020: Chennai Super Kings

CSK is ready to play the exciting tournament under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. The team is a franchise based in Chennai, Tamil Nadu. The team was founded in 2008 whereas squad is coached by Stephen Fleming.

The team has brought the IPL trophy to home three times; in 2010, 2011, and 2018. It was considered the highest win percentage among all teams in the IPL (61.28). They hold the records of most appearances in the playoffs (ten) and the Final (eight) of the IPL. They are the only IPL team to qualify for the playoff stage in each edition of their appearance in the league.


Narayan Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, KM Asif, Ravindra Jadeja, M Vijay, MS Dhoni, Josh Hazlewood, Kedar Jadhav, Harbhajan Singh, Karn Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Faf du Plessis, Shardul Thakur, Mitchell Santner, Dwayne Bravo, Lungi Ngidi, Sam Curran, Monu Kumar, Shane Watson, Sai Kishore.

New players:

For IPL 2020, the Chennai Super Kings team has only bought 4 players — Piyush Chawla, Josh Hazlewood, R Sai Kishore, and Sam Curran.

Piyush Chawla

Chawla was the most expensive player that the CSK has bought with the price Rs 6.75 crore; the highest offered amount to an Indian cricketer in the auction.

“We rate him very highly. The captain has a great relationship with him. He is a quality leg spinner and he is very different from Karn Sharma. We have a balanced side; we have always favored spin. Our home ground is very spin-friendly,” said head coach, Fleming.

Josh Hazlewood:

The Chennai Super Kings also bought Australian pacer, Josh Hazlewood in the IPL 2020 auction at his base price of Rs 2 crore. Apart from Lungi Ngidi, CSK does not have any other overseas fast bowler.

Sam Curran:

CSK has strengthened its teams by picking English player Sam Curran for Rs 5.5 crore.

R Sai Kishore:

The last cricketer that Chennai Super Kings bought in the IPL 2020 auction is R Sai Kishore. He was picked at the base price of Rs 20 lakh.

List of Players with their salaries:

PlayerTeamRetained/boughtPrice (Rs cr)
MS DhoniCSKRetained15
Suresh RainaCSKRetained11
Kedar JadhavCSKRetained7.8
Ravindra JadejaCSKRetained7
Piyush ChawlaCSKBought6.75
Dwayne BravoCSKRetained6.4
Sam CurranCSKBought5.5
Karn SharmaCSKRetained5
Shane WatsonCSKRetained4
Shardul ThakurCSKRetained2.6
Ambati RayuduCSKRetained2.2
Harbhajan SinghCSKRetained2
Josh HazlewoodCSKBought2
Murli VijayCSKRetained2
Faf du PlessisCSKRetained1.6
Imran TahirCSKRetained1
Deepak ChaharCSKRetained0.8
Lungi NgidiCSKRetained0.5
Mitchell SantnerCSKRetained0.5
K M AsifCSKRetained0.4
Monu KumarCSKRetained0.2
Narayan JagadeesanCSKRetained0.2
R Sai Kishore (uncapped)CSKBought0.2
Ruturaj GaikwadCSKRetained0.2

Schedule for IPL 2020:

DateDayMatchVenueIndian Time
2020-09-19SaturdayCSK vs MIAbu Dhabi7: 30 pm IST
2020-09-22TuesdayCSK vs RRSharjah7: 30 pm IST
2020-09-25FridayCSK vs DCDubai7: 30 pm IST
2020-10-02FridayCSK vs SRHDubai7: 30 pm IST
2020-10-04SundayCSK vs KXIPDubai7: 30 pm IST
2020-10-07WednesdayCSK vs KKRAbu Dhabi7: 30 pm IST
2020-10-10SaturdayCSK vs RCBDubai7: 30 pm IST
2020-10-13TuesdayCSK vs SRHDubai7: 30 pm IST
2020-10-17 SaturdayCSK vs DCSharjah7: 30 pm IST
2020-10-19MondayCSK vs RRAbu Dhabi7: 30 pm IST
2020-10-23FridayCSK vs MISharjah7: 30 pm IST
2020-10-25 SundayCSK vs RCBDubai3: 30 pm IST
2020-10-29ThursdayCSK vs KKRDubai7: 30 pm IST
2020-11-01SundayCSK vs KXIPAbu Dhabi3: 30 pm IST

List of Players with their role:

Ambati Rayudu (R)Batsman
Monu Kumar (R)Batsman
Murali Vijay (R)Batsman
Ruturaj Gaikwad (R)Batsman
MS Dhoni (R)Wicket Keeper
Jagadeesan Narayan (R)Wicket Keeper
K M Asif (R)All-Rounder
Dwayne Bravo (R)All-Rounder
Faf du Plessis (R)All-Rounder
Karn Sharma (R)All-Rounder
Kedar Jadhav (R)All-Rounder
Ravindra jadeja (R)All-Rounder
Shane Watson (R)All-Rounder
Sam CurranAll-Rounder
Deepak Chahar (R)Bowler
Imran Tahir (R)Bowler
Lungisani Ngidi (R)Bowler
Mitchell Santner (R)Bowler
Shardul Thakur (R)Bowler
Piyush ChawlaBowler
Josh HazlewoodBowler
R. Sai KishoreBowler


Adsense 300 x 250