Kuwait bans commercial flights to 31 countries, including Pakistan

Aizbah KhanWeb Editor

01st Aug, 2020. 09:44 pm
Kuwait bans commercial flights to 31 countries, including Pakistan

Kuwait has banned commercial flights to 31 countries, including Pakistan, due to the spread of the coronavirus.

Kuwait has banned these countries, calling them a “major threat” to the spread of the pandemic.

Kuwait’s director general of civil aviation said the ban would remain in place indefinitely, according to Reuters.

Apart from Pakistan, Kuwait has banned commercial flights from countries including India, Egypt, the Philippines, Lebanon and Sri Lanka, many of which are based in Kuwait for employment.

The list includes China, Iran, Brazil, Mexico, Italy and Iraq.

The ban was announced on the same day that Kuwait partially resumed commercial flights.

The administration had said that Kuwait International Airport would be operated at 30% of its capacity from Saturday, which would be increased in the coming months.

There have been more than 67,000 cases of the coronavirus in Kuwait and more than 400 deaths.

The Middle East country launched a five-phase plan in early June to gradually lift the ban on the coronavirus epidemic.

In June, three UAE airlines, Emirates, Etihad and Flydubai, suspended flight operations to Pakistan after a large number of Corona positive results surfaced.

Emirates had suspended flight operations to Hong Kong after the corona test of 30 Pakistani passengers tested positive, saying the airline was in close touch with various authorities and to satisfy the parties before resuming services to Pakistan.

Immediately after the Emirates announcement, Fly Dubai and Etihad Airways made the same decision and suspended operations for passengers travelling from Pakistan abroad.

However, just weeks after the suspension of services, Emirates and Etihad Airways resumed flights from Pakistan for passengers whose test results were positive.

Adsense 300 x 250