Muslims to observe the Miraculous Night ‘Shab E Meraj’

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

11th Mar, 2021. 04:34 pm
Shab e Miraj

Muslims across the world will observe the miraculous Shab E Meraj, the Night of Ascent with great devotion and zeal.

Shab E Meraj is a holy night that comes on the 27th day of the month of Rajab, the seventh month of the Islamic calendar.

This night marks the journey of Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W) from Mecca to Jerusalem and then ascended to heaven.

A large number of believers will offer special prayers the whole night in specially decorated mosques and inside their homes for seeking the blessings of Almighty Allah.

Isra And Meraj

Isra and Meraj are two parts of the “holy” journey. Isra and Meraj took place approximately 10-12 years after Prophet (S.A.W) received revelation from Allah.

This was a time of great sorrow and grief for the Prophet (S.A.W) because of the recent deaths of his beloved wife Khadijah (R.A.) and his uncle Abu Talib.

However, in these difficult times, Prophet (S.A.W) was honored with direct contact with Allah through this blessed journey.

One of the greatest gifts of this night that obligatory Prayer (Farz Salah) was instituted on Muslims.

Similar to other events and occasions of the blessed life of our Prophet (S.A.W), The Night Journey is a rich source of inspiration and lessons for the entire humanity.

What is the importance of Shab e Meraj?

It is the blessed and glorious night when the Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W) was spiritually transported to heaven and he reached the highest of nearness to Allah Almighty which is beyond ordinary human comprehension.

In a verse of Surah Al-Isra, Holy Quran details that:

“Exalted is He who took His Servant by night from al-Masjid al-Haram to al-Masjid al-Aqsa, whose surroundings We have blessed, to show him of Our signs. Indeed, He is the Hearing, the Seeing.” (Surah Al-Isra 17:1)

Through his ascension, Prophet Mohammad (S.A.W) stopped by all seven layers of the heaven/sky.

Messenger of Allah (S.A.W.W) met the following great Prophets on each heaven:

  1. On first heaven, Prophet Adam (A.S.)
  2. On second heaven, Prophet Isa (A.S.) and Prophet Yahya (A.S.)
  3. The third heaven, Prophet Yusuf (A.S.)
  4. Fourth heaven, Prophet Idris (A.S.)
  5. Fifth heaven, Prophet Haroon (A.S.)
  6. Sixth heaven, Prophet Musa (A.S.)
  7. Seventh heaven, Prophet Ibrahim (A.S.)

Gifts Of Isra And Meraj

The Messenger of Allah (S.A.W.W) was given three things during this blessed journey:

1-     Five daily Prayers (which equal to the reward of fifty daily Prayers). (Sahih Bukhari: 7517)

2-     Concluding verses of Surah Al-Baqarah (Last Two Verses).

3-     Allah’s Promise that the sins of the Ummah of Mohammad (S.A.W.) would be forgiven except those who died associating partners with Allah. (Sahih Muslim: 173)

Adsense 300 x 250