GB Elections 2020: PTI takes lead, Vote Counting Underway

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

16th Nov, 2020. 09:29 am

The vote counting is underway after polling for Gilgit Baltistan GB Elections 2020 ended on Sunday. However, according to the unofficial results, Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf leads the election.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and the Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) complain about some irregularities and alleged rigging in GB Elections 2020 during the polling and counting process which mostly remained peaceful.

Out of the 847 polling booths, 418 were declared highly sensitive, 311 sensitive, and 431 normal. Twenty-four seats of the Gilgit Baltistan Assembly are up for grabs among the 320 candidates that contested.

Twenty-four seats of the Gilgit Baltistan Assembly are up for grabs.

GB Elections 2020 Unofficial Results

As per the latest unofficial results, PTI is ahead with a lead in 9 of 24 constituencies.


PartyCandidate Constituency
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Fattaullah KhanGBA-2, Gilgit-II
Ubaidullah BaigGBA-6, Hunza
Raja Muhammad Zakaria KhanGBA-7, Skardu-I
Syed Majid AliGBA-11, Kharmang
Raja Azam KhanGBA-12, Shigar
Muhammad Khalid KhursheedGBA-13, Astore-I
Shamsul Haq LoneGBA-14, Astore-II
Nazir AhmedGBA-20, Ghizer II
Gulber Khan GBA-18
Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)Amjad HussainGBA-1, Gilgit-I
Amjad Hussain GBA-4, Nagar-I
Muhammad IsmailGBA-24, Ghanche-III
Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) Muhammad AnwarGBA-16, Diamer-II
Ghulam MuhammadGBA-21, Ghizer-III
Independent Candidates Javed Ali ManwaGBA-5, Nagar-II
Wazir Muhammad SaleemGBA-9, Skardu-III
Nasir Ali KhanGBA-10, Skardu-IV
Haji Shah BaigGBA-15, Diamer-I
Nawaz Khan NajiGBA-19, Ghizer I
Mushtaq HussainGBA-22, Ghanche-I
Abdul HameedGBA-23, Ghanche-II
Majlis Wahdat-e-Muslimeen (MWM)Mohammad KazimGBA-8, Skardu-II

Disciplined Voting

Earlier, despite the threat of Covid-19 and harsh weather conditions in some upper areas, the GB people voted in a complete discipline manner with no reports of violence coming from any part of the region.


More than 15,000 security personnel from GB, Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Sindh and Balochistan performed duties at polling stations.

Adsence 300X250