Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

New Sensation Jamieson bowls NZ to 2nd Test, Series Win against Pakistan

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

06th Jan, 2021. 10:10 am
Double Click 160 x 600
Pakistan New Zealand

Pakistan lost the test series against New Zealand as the Kiwis won the second match by an innings and 176 runs at Hagley Oval in Christchurch.

Now Black Caps are on top of the world; they can call themselves best in the world, moving to No 1 in the world test rankings for the first time after demolishing Pakistan.

New Zealand cricket’s new sensation and man-of-the-match Kyle Jamieson ripped Pakistan by taking 6 wickets on just 48 runs. He also claimed the match figures of 11-117.

Pakistan, who started the day at 8-1, had moved through to 69-3 at lunch on Wednesday. Pakistan resumed their second innings with a trail of 354 runs on day four with nine wickets in hand.

Top-order batsman Azhar Ali and tailender Zafar Gohar joint top-scored with 37 each of 98 and 64 balls respectively.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson was named player of the series for scoring 388 runs in two matches at an average of 129.33.

“It was a really pleasing performance and nice to finish the test summer on a high. It’s been an incredible couple of games, a huge amount of effort goes into every test,” Williamson said.

While commenting about Jamieson, the NZ skipper was full of praise, describing him as a “special” cricketer.

“His contributions have been immense and gone a long way to moving this team forward, and complementing the bowling attack really well.” Williamson, who is the No 1 ranked batsman in the world, described his New Zealand record-equalling fourth test double hundred as a “real battle” early on.

New Zealand vs Pakistan 2nd Test squads

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Will Young, Mitchell Santner, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell, Tom Latham, BJ Watling, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner and Trent Boult.

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (C), Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Imran Butt, Haris Sohail, Shan Masood, Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Mohd Abbas, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Sohail Khan and Yasir Shah.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news