PPP will be victorious in 2020 Gilgit-Baltistan elections says Bilawal

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

27th Oct, 2020. 04:29 pm

Chairman Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Bilawal Bhutto Zardari has claimed that his party will be victorious in the upcoming elections in Gilgit Baltistan.

According to the details, While addressing in Skardu during the election campaign, Bilawal Bhutto said, “Witnessing the enthusiasm of the people, I am convinced that the victory would be for the PPP in the elections.”

He said, “PPP has started its struggle for the better future of the new generation of Gilgit Baltistan, PPP will fight for the rights of people.” He added that “Former President Asif Zardari gave provincial status to Gilgit-Baltistan. The Country went under severe economic crisis after the Pakistan Peoples Party government ended.”

He said that People all over Pakistan are protesting against the government. The current Government of Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf has failed in providing relief to the masses.

2020 Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly elections

The 2020 Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly elections are scheduled to be held on 15 November 2020. This will be the region’s third election since GB was given the power to rule itself in 2009 through its assembly.

The PML-N completed its term on June 23, 2020, and the Legislative Assembly wrapped up after five years in power. Mir Afzal was sworn in as the caretaker chief minister for GB on June 24.

GB has 24 constituencies and its assembly has 33 seats. Candidates from political parties will stand for 24 seats. Of the remaining seats, six are reserved for women and three for technocrats. The area has a population of about 1.3 million and a total of 745,361 voters have registered, of which roughly half of 339,992 are women.

A total of 330 people are standing in these elections. The PML-Q is fielding candidates in 14 constituencies. And the PTI has issued party tickets to 22 people and expressed its support for Majlis Wahdat-e-Muslimeen’s candidates in two constituencies.

The PPP, which suffered a defeat at the hands of the PML-N in 2015, announced candidates for all 24 constituencies.  Bilawal Bhutto Zardari is running the campaign.

Adsense 300 x 250