Gilgit-Baltistan Elections: PTI secures another win

Muhammad UsmanMultimedia Journalist

23rd Nov, 2020. 11:16 am

According to the unofficial and unverified results, with 6,873 votes, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Syed Sohail Abbas has won the GBLA-3 constituency of Gilgit-Baltistan.

Dr. Iqbal, an Independent candidate, with 4,678 votes is the runner-up.

As per details, 21 candidates contested in the constituency while 41,360 voters were registered.

The polling ended at 5 pm on Sunday in the constituency. It continued without any break throughout the day as a large number of people were waiting for their turn to cast votes despite the cold weather in Gilgit.

[EMBEDPOST SLUG=”gilgit-baltistan-elections-2020-polling-underway-in-gbla-3/”]

Tight security measures had been taken at all polling stations.

It is pertinent to mention here that the polling was delayed in the GBlA-3 constituency of Gilgit-Baltistan on November 15 due to the death of PTI candidate Jaffar Shah.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had acquired the required number to form government in Gilgit-Baltistan (GB) after six independent candidates, who were declared winners decided to join the party.


Adsense 300 x 250