Senate Elections 2021: ECP issues victory notifications of senators

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

10th Mar, 2021. 04:37 pm

The Election Commission of Pakistan on Wednesday has issued victory notifications of senators in the Upper House.

According to the details, the Election Commission issued notification of the victory of 48 senators including Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader and former Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gillani, and Federal Minister for Water Resources Faisal Vawda.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has emerged as the largest party in the upper house after the 2021 Senate elections, but the opposition coalition in the House has the edge over the ruling coalition.

Elections were to be held for 48 Senate seats but all the candidates for 11 seats in Punjab had already been elected unopposed, out of which PTI won 5, PML-N won 5 and PML-Q won one seat.

It should be noted that today the top Electoral body rejected  PTI’s petition challenging the Senate win of PPP’s Yousaf Raza Gillani. The Election Commission today rejected the request made by PTI to stop the notification of Yousaf Raza Gilani’s victory and issued notices to the parties.

Adsense 300 x 250