Senate Elections 2021: PM Imran crossed with Shehryar Afridi for wasting his vote

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

03rd Mar, 2021. 05:17 pm
Senate Elections 2021 Shehryar Afridi vote wasted

Prime Minister Imran Khan is quite angry after PTI MNA Shehryar Afridi wasted his vote after he mistakenly signed the ballot paper at the Senate Elections.

Shehryar Afridi has on Wednesday reportedly earned PM Imran’s ire as he requested the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to let him cast his vote afresh.

“It is submitted that I have been feeling unwell for the past few days and couldn’t attend the meetings of the party for preparations of elections,” Afridi said in a letter to the ECP.

Commenting over the entire situation, the premier said, “You are an MNA. How can you make a mistake like this?” he told Afridi.

“Everyone was informed about the voting procedure [beforehand]. You shouldn’t have made a mistake like this,” he added angrily.

However, polling for 37 seats of the Senate is underway under the supervision of the Election Commission. A total of 37 senators will get elected.

Earlier in the day, Prime Minister Imran Khan has casted his vote in the Senate elections being held in Islamabad. He also interacted with the MNAs of PTI and allied parties.

On the occasion, the Opposition members present in the hall raised slogans against the government and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

However, Imran Khan left shortly to his chambers after casting his vote.

In the National Assembly, the first vote was cast by PTI’s Shafiq Arain while the second one was cast by the federal Minister for Water Resources Faisal Vawda.

In the federal capital, Abdul Hafeez Sheikh of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) are vying for the general seat, which is also said to be the most high-profile contest of the Senate Elections-2021.

Whereas, for the women’s seat, Fauzia Arshad of PTI and Farzana Kausar of PML-N are in the field.

Twenty-five candidates are in the field for twelve seats of Senate from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, twenty-six from Balochistan, and seventeen from Sindh province.

Adsense 300 x 250