Gilgit-Baltistan Elections 2020 in Brief

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

12th Nov, 2020. 10:15 am

Gilgit-Baltistan elections 2020 will be taking place in 24 constituencies on November 15. This will be the third election since GB was given the power to rule itself in 2009 through its assembly.


At least 330 candidates will contest this ballot exercise for the 33-member Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly. GB has 24 constituencies and its assembly has 33 seats.

Candidates from political parties will stand for 24 seats. Of the remaining seats, six are reserved for women and three for technocrats.


More than 700,000 voters will exercise their right of franchise elect 24 candidates in Gilgit-Baltistan elections 2020, where leaders of all top national political parties are currently busy delivering fiery speeches against each other and making pledges and promises ahead of the polls. The area has a population of about 1.3 million and a total of 745,361 voters has registered, of which roughly half or 339,992 are women.


Gilgit-Baltistan comprises two divisions, seven districts, and 22 tehsils. Skardu and Ghanche are in Baltistan Division, while Diamer, Ghizar, Gilgit, Astore, and Hunza Nagar are in Gilgit Division.

Skardu has a population of 0.289 million, Diamir has 0.177 million inhabitants, while Ghizer’s population stands at 0.162 million.

Ghanche has 0.199 million people, the Astore region has 0.096 million people, whereas Hunza-Nagar has a population of 0.130.

Adsence 300X250