Adam Zampa tries to run out Melbourne Renegades’ non-striker Tom Rogers.
Rogers adjudged not out as Zampa stepped too far out of his crease.
Zampa admits he “saw red a little bit” but insists he was within his rights.
After trying a controversial “Mankad” run-out in Australia’s domestic Twenty20 Big Bash League, Australian spinner Adam Zampa said that he “saw red a little bit,” but he believed that he was perfectly within his rights to do what he did.
On Tuesday night, the captain of the Melbourne Stars was frustrated with the non-striker Tom Rogers of the Melbourne Renegades because he was stepping too far out of his crease. He attempted to dismiss Rogers by bowling at him.
While Zampa was in the middle of his bowling run-up, Rogers stepped out of his stance, which caused the bails to go off.
The umpire requested a review of the decision, which resulted in the conclusion that Rogers should not have been ruled out because Zampa’s arm had already exceeded the point at which it was reasonable to anticipate that he would release the ball.
Some members of the nearly 40,000-strong crowd at the Melbourne Cricket Ground voiced their disapproval of their own captain by booing him.
David Hussey, the head coach of the Stars, stated that the organisation would have dropped the appeal if Rogers had been made available.
“It’s not the right way to play cricket — yet. It was more of a warning for the batter not to leave too early,” Hussey told
After the Renegades were defeated by a score of 33 runs, Zampa later stated to the reporters that he did not have any regrets.
“I’m a very competitive guy. I saw red a little bit when he used that to his advantage,” he said.
“If I get in that situation again, I’m not saying I won’t do it … I was well within my rights. It’s in the rule book. I just got my technique wrong.”
Vinoo Mankad, an all-rounder from India, was responsible for the unusual manner in which Australian batsman Bill Brown was removed from the game during a test match in 1948.
Every time the dismissal takes place, it kicks off a heated controversy, but the International Cricket Council determined that it was legal in the previous year.
PAK vs NZ: Shadab Khan left Australia to join Pakistan team
Shadab Khan departed Australia for Karachi. He was a member of Hobart...