Trinbago Knight Riders wins Caribbean Premier League Final

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

11th Sep, 2020. 03:06 pm
Trinbago Knight Riders

Trinbago Knight Riders thrashed St Lucia Zouks by 8 wickets in the final match of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) edition 2020.

According to the details, Kieron Pollard-led Trinbago Knight Riders won the toss and opted to field first in the summit showdown of the CPL.

The match took place at Brian Lara Stadium in Trinidad.

TKR also became the first team to win every single game in the tournament and lift the trophy in the process. This is their third title in four seasons.

Skipper Kieron Pollard claimed figures of 4-30 in four overs. Wicketkeeper-batsman Andre Fletcher top-scored with 39 from 27 balls for Zouks, which included three fours and a six. Mark Deyal made 29 off 27 balls.

TKR struggled in the chase as they were 19-2 in 3.3 overs after Roston Chase and Scott Kuggeleijn took a wicket each.

St Lucia Zouks lost opener Rahkeem Cornwall cheaply for eight runs on Ali Khan delivery.

Cornwall’s opening partner Mak Deyal (27-ball 29) and Andre Fletcher (27-ball 39) then joined forces to stitch a crucial 67-run stand for the second wicket before falling victim to Fawad Ahmed and Pollard, respectively.

Subsequently, Roston Chase and Najibullah Zadran also failed to convert their good starts into big scores and departed for 22 and 24 runs, respectively.

Lendl Simmons (84 off 49) and Darren Bravo (58 off 47) for the third wicket took the game away from the Zouks with their 138-run partnership.

Lendl Simmons was awarded the Man of the Match title. Kieron Pollard entitled as the Man of the Tournament.

Adsense 300 x 250