PSL 6 first playoff: Teams observe one-minute silence to honour Ali Sadpara

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

20th Feb, 2021. 09:04 pm
PSL 6 first playoff

The much-awaited tournament, Pakistan Super League (PSL) 6 kicked off with a star-studded glittering opening ceremony here at National Stadium Karachi on Saturday.

The opening ceremony, which was reportedly recorded in Istanbul, Turkey, started with the national anthem of Pakistan followed by fireworks. PSL 6 Anthem artists Naseebo Lal Aima Baig, singer Atif Aslam and rapper Imran Khan performed at the PSL 6 opening ceremony.

A minute’s silence was observed today in honour of ace mountaineer Ali Sadpara, who passed away during his K2 winter summit and Mr Jamshed Omar, Chairman of team Quetta Gladiators.

“You will live in our hearts forever. Mr Jamshed Omar #AliSadpara,” tweeted Team Quetta.

Defending champions Karachi Kings locked horns with former champions Quetta Gladiators and elected to field first at the first PSL 6 playoff.

Moreover, netizens and cricket lovers are already excited about the mega tournament. PSL 2021 is trending top on Twitter. Some users are supporting their favourite teams while others are bringing out a hilarious side to the event.

Comprehensive security arrangements have been made for the event. Only 7,500 fans will be able to witness the matches at NSK due to the ongoing pandemic situation.

This is the second time that all matches are scheduled to be played in Pakistan including the 3 playoffs and the final match.

In total, 34 matches will be played during the month-long tournament that will conclude on 22nd March with the final to be played in Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.


Karachi Kings: Aamer Yamin, Arshad Iqbal, Babar Azam, Colin Ingram, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Sharjeel Khan, Waqas Maqsood, Chadwick Walton, Dan Christian, Danish Aziz, Joe Clarke, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Ilyas, Noor Ahmed, Qasim Akram, Zeeshan Malik.

Quetta Gladiators: Chris Gayle, Tom Banton, Azam Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed (capt &wk(), Saim Ayub, Ben Cutting, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Hasnain, Qais Ahmed, Naseem Shah, Usman Shinwari.

Adsense 300 x 250