GB elections 2020: ECP must ensure every vote is counted says Bilawal Bhutto

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

15th Nov, 2020. 04:06 pm
Bilawal Bhutto

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari has said that the enthusiasm of the people of Gilgit Baltistan during the GB elections 2020 in the region shows their “commitment towards democracy”.

Taking to his Twitter handle, Bilawal said:

“The Election Commission should keep in mind the sentiments of the people and should ensure impartial and transparent vote cast and vote count.”

Earlier Bilawal warned the PTI-led federal government of ‘dire consequences’ if attempts were made to steal the people’s mandate in Gilgit-Baltistan (G-B) elections.

“Federal government must stay away from stealing people’s mandate or else repercussions will be too serious to deal with,” said Bilawal in a statement.

Polling for the third elections of the GB Legislative Assembly is underway today with over 200 candidates belonging to PTI, PML-N, PPP and other political parties contested elections for 24 seats.

The campaigning for the election ended at midnight Friday. The region’s administration said at least 15,900 law-enforcement personnel would be deployed for security purposes. Authorities have declared 418 polling stations as highly sensitive and 311 as sensitive.

PartyCandidate Constituency
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Fattaullah KhanGBA-2, Gilgit-II
Ubaidullah BaigGBA-6, Hunza
Raja Muhammad Zakaria KhanGBA-7, Skardu-I
Syed Majid AliGBA-11, Kharmang
Raja Azam KhanGBA-12, Shigar
Muhammad Khalid KhursheedGBA-13, Astore-I
Shamsul Haq LoneGBA-14, Astore-II
Nazir AhmedGBA-20, Ghizer II
Gulber Khan GBA-18
Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)Amjad HussainGBA-1, Gilgit-I
Amjad Hussain GBA-4, Nagar-I
Muhammad IsmailGBA-24, Ghanche-III
Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) Muhammad AnwarGBA-16, Diamer-II
Ghulam MuhammadGBA-21, Ghizer-III
Independent Candidates Javed Ali ManwaGBA-5, Nagar-II
Wazir Muhammad SaleemGBA-9, Skardu-III
Nasir Ali KhanGBA-10, Skardu-IV
Haji Shah BaigGBA-15, Diamer-I
Nawaz Khan NajiGBA-19, Ghizer I
Mushtaq HussainGBA-22, Ghanche-I
Abdul HameedGBA-23, Ghanche-II
Majlis Wahdat-e-Muslimeen (MWM)Mohammad KazimGBA-8, Skardu-II
Adsense 300 x 250